Challenge #1 A Self-Improvement Book

#13 A self-improvement book:

I decided to get one of the worst sounding challenges done and out of the way, thus I started with the self-improvement book challenge. In general, I hate self-help books. I happened to have The New Rules of Lifting by Lou Schuler because my boyfriend got it for me for Christmas in attempt to get me to go to the gym and lift with him. I love exercise even less than self-improvement books, but I love my boyfriend and I know he’s right that it’s time that I start working out (I promise he said this in an extremely loving way) so I decided to give this book a try. Luckily, this book was not that bad. It was actually pretty interesting. I learned a lot about health in general and what it means to be a woman in the weight room, where and I know I am not alone in thinking that generally only guys go. The author is very witty and doesn’t make the material dry. The book covers why and how to lift, gives a 6 month workout plan that’s easy to follow for beginners and experienced lifters, and also includes some yummy recipes to try as well as the ideal foods to eat as you work out. All in all I was very happy that I took the time to read this book, and I certainly feel a bit more confident when I go to the gym.

Leave a Reply

