Challenge #4 A Book that’s at Least 100 Years Older than You

Ok this one was a lot of fun! As a lover of Historical Fiction and Classics I could not have gone wrong with this challenge. After some debate, I finally decided on Uncle Tom’s Cabin. I was absolutely fascinated with the Civil War growing up and I’ve always been kind of ashamed that I had never read Uncle Tom’s Cabin, especially when it quote on quote “started the Civil War.” I’m so glad that I finally picked it up. #17 A book that's at least a 100 years older than you: This book is not only a wonderful story, but a remarkable representation of anti-slavery feelings in the 1850s. Harriet Beecher Stowe does not hold back. She lashes into everyone, South and North alike for being responsible for slavery. She takes down the slave owners in the same breath that she criticizes the do-gooder abolitionists of the North who would send all African Americans back to Africa rather than try to integrate them into the America society. Stowe gave the slaves a voice that very few were able or willing to do in these times. Stowe does bring a lot of Religion and the gentleness and moral superiority of women into the mix a lot so I could see how some people might be turned off by the book. But if you think about as a first class account of the what was important in society during that time, and how these piece allows one repressed member of society (a woman) give power and voice to other repressed members (African Americans) you can see that it really is a powerful piece of work! I can’t believe that throughout all my schooling to become an English teacher, Uncle Tom’s Cabin was never even discussed in any of my classes. God knows I read The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn for about three different class (it wasn’t that bad since I love that book). I’m sure one of them could have found room for Uncle Tom’s Cabin on the syllabus.

Leave a Reply

