10 Books that I would re-read if I had the time

As I was scanning the Internet, I happened across a blog in which a woman discusses her top ten comfort books. Despite being an avid reader who consumes books by the plenty she still has specific books she returns to for comfort and the pure joy of revisiting favorite characters (I have included the link to her blog here). This got me thinking, what would my comfort books be? In answer I have complied a list of books that I think would be my comfort books (I say think because I don’t actually re-read books, due to lack of time and too many books to read). These are in no particular order

1. The Help– Oh my god I still remember reading this book five years ago. It absolutely kills me that the author has not written anything since. The characters and the story absolutely got to me. Sometimes I honestly wish I did not have a huge stack of books to read so I could just spend my days re-reading this book. So freaking fantastic!

2. To Kill a Mockingbird– Ok, who honestly doesn’t at least like TKM? I know we are all assigned to read it in school, but admit that this was probably the best damn book you had to read in English class. The absolute genius of Lee to discuss such an important subject through the eyes of such an innocent child! There are times where I can’t imagine any other book topping the pure beauty of TKM.

3. Jane Eyre– Absolute favorite classic! Jane Eyre is my spirit animal. How can you not instantly fall in love with a female protagonist who sticks up for herself when no one else will? She is basically what Cinderella could have been if she had had any guts and not bothered to wait around for a prince to come and save her. Long live Jane Eyre!

4. The Hobbit & The Lord of the Rings Trilogy– Do I really have to do any explaining here? If you haven’t read the books you’ve at least seen the movies, and of course the books are always better than the movies (and those movies are pretty freaking fantastic). Hobbits, Dragons, Wizards, mighty quests. Nuff said

5. Frankenstein-So I think I had to read this for three classes in college and each time I loved it. I wrote some of the best papers I have ever written on this book. It has so much to offer. Considered the book that basically started the science-fiction genre, written by a woman in a time when men were supposed to be in charge, and a result of a dark and spooky night where a whole bunch of authors gathered around a fire to tell ghost stories- how is that not awesome?

6. Dracula– The only vampire novel I like! This is what vampires were before Stephanie Meyer ruined them with Twilight. Bleh. If you want the perfect book to read around Halloween time this is it! This story is amazing and even though it was assigned work in college, I devoured every page (no pun intended).

7. The Snow Child This one would have to be a winter re-read. This book just seems more magical when the snow is falling outside the window and you’re inside wrapped up in a warm blanket. One of the most beautiful love stories I’ve ever read. It’s about a love that is so deep and special, that I don’t know if I can even do it just to try and explain it. It’s not just a love between lovers, but between families. More specifically it’s about the product of profound love. The magical realism in this book is so well done that when you finish you’re not sure if what just read is historical fiction or fantasy.

8. The Glass Castle or Half Broke Horses– I really enjoyed the author’s style of writing. The way she could tell her story and make it feel like a novel. I had never given much thought to creative nonfiction until I read her books. If I had to choose just one of them to re-read I’m not sure if I could pick between the two.

9. The Good Earth-Honestly, I didn’t expect to like this one very much. It was going to be one of those reads that I was doing more to say that I did it rather than for enjoyment’s sake, but it turns out that I thought it was great! I can’t say what exactly made me like this book so much, just that I really got involved with the story. I liked Buck’s writing style and the subject matter was very interesting.

10. Their Eyes Were Watching God– Another college read that I spent nights in my dorm room pouring over. I also bought the audiobook and listened to it on my iPod as I walked to and from class on campus. I had never even heard of the book before I was assigned it in class, but I’m certainly glad I got the chance to experience it.

This list might very well change as time goes by, but only for books 7-10. The first six are definite permanents. I have a feeling that I have some books sitting on my shelf right waiting to take a place on this list- A Tree Grows in BrooklynThe Night CircusThe Thorn Birds? We’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

