Challenge #9 A book that’s becoming a movie this year

The book I ended up choosing for this challenge was Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I had heard about this book and knew that it was getting a lot of hype. I had even6b174c6342ec68ad14ef1cfe134117f5 picked it up a couple of times. The problem was that I’m not usually into contemporary romances. They always end up too formulaic. My mind changed when I saw the trailer for the movie (and not just because Emilia Clarke, who is Khaleesi from Game of Thrones, is going to play Lou). That also never happens. Generally, I go to see (or not see a movie) because I read the book first. Seeing the trailer I realized that this isn’t going to be a typical love story. It’s going to deal with real human connection and the human ability to overcome tragedy. I knew then that I did want to read the book. So when my boyfriend was freaking out over what to get me for Valentine’s Day, I had the perfect solution.

I will admit that at first the story is a little slow. I have a really hard time getting through slow beginnings even though I know that once I get into the book things will start to go by fast. Anyway, it took me a little longer than I wanted but it ended up being great! The main character, Lou, was such a refreshing change for a female protagonist of a romance story. She is fearless and funny and just a little bit broken. She’s an oddity, but she is sweet and smart. I think a lot of women will be able to identify with Lou. Rather than go through a physical change like some woman do in these novels to impress the male lead, Lou goes through an emotional/mental change all while remaining true to herself. I was very happy with this book and even though I know there is a sequel, I’m not sure I’ll pick it up. I think the ending for this book was perfect and I kind of just want to leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

