Challenge #12 A YA Bestseller

Here’s another challenge that my students ended up picking out for me. The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard was the number one choice that my after school book club picked out. When I went to pick up the copies for my kids, I noticed that this book was high up there in the YA world. It was singled out in almost every book store I went to as a number one pick for teens, and articles online are already starting to call it the next Hunger Games. After reading it, I wasn’t b4bd9bf0bdefccc0873b1e4e900bffb32.jpglown away by it like I was when I read the Hunger Games, but I will admit that it was really good.

It is very reminiscent of Collins’ books (the setting takes place in the future, the weaker members of society are being oppressed by the more powerful members, a strong heroine  is chosen by fate to represent the change for her oppressed people), but it definitely has its own thing going on. Where as HG was purely science fiction with a huge emphasis on the dystopian genre, The Red Queen has a significant fantasy element mixed in with the futuristic dystopian feel. So much so that sometimes you forget that it’s supposed to be futuristic because of all the fantasy lingo that’s going on. You might not think that would work, but strangely it does!

I will admit that at first Mare, our main character, rubbed me the wrong way. I felt like she was written a little too angry, kind of like I was being force fed her hatred. Maybe it’s because I was comparing her to Katniss who I think was a better character overall, but either way I ended up liking her character along the way. She starts off so tough that you think that she is going to one of those girls won’t ever admit that they were wrong purely out of pride. So it’s refreshing to see her know when she’s beat and use her head to make the best out of a bad situation. I gave The Red Queen four solid stars. While I don’t think it’s anywhere good enough to earn five stars, the story had me hooked and the intrigue of the world that Aveyard created was fascinating.

Leave a Reply

